Price Thomas Travel Bursaries

The group of Travelling Surgical Club (as it was then) members photographed above in Madrid in 1953 includes Clement Price Thomas, seated centrally, beside Bob Nevin (Secretary of the TSC). 

The Travelling Surgical Society of Great Britain and Ireland

Price Thomas Travelling Fellowship


Update – November 2021:

The Society was unable to travel in 2020 and 2021 due to global disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2020 Price Thomas Fellows could not take up their awards and these have been held over in anticipation that we will be able to travel in 2022. We are planning to travel to Milan in May 2022 (see brochure) and we are hopeful that we will be able to open applications for 2023 Fellowships later in 2022.

Former Price Thomas Travelling Fellows

2019   Major Michael Hughes travelled to Malta and presented to the University of Malta and the Mater Dei Hospital.

2018   Mr Alastair Simpson and Mr Mohan Singh travelled to Budapest, Hungary. They presented at the GI and Vascular Institutes of the Semmelweiss University.


The decision to have two Price Thomas Fellows was certainly rewarded this year. They travelled with us to Gent, Belgium. They presented papers at University Hospital Gent, Sint Lucas Hospital in Bruges and Queen Astrid Military Hospital in Brussels. Andrew Healey was a post CCST Fellow who gave superb talks on the value of endoscopic ultrasound in the management of difficult upper GI emergencies and the state of training for laparoscopic liver surgery in UK.

In an era where antibiotic resistance is a very real threat, Ernest Azzopardi gave us some insight into cutting edge research which will differentiate infection (which needs treatment with antibiotics) from inflammation (which does not).


The number and quality of applications for the bursary this year was outstanding.  The judging panel, chaired by the President, deliberated hard and concluded that we should appoint two travelling fellows this year.  They travelled with us to Canada and presented two papers each at our academic sessions in Toronto.  They were: Mr Joseph Hardwicke.  Lecturer in Plastic Surgery at the University of Birmingham, and  Specialty Registrar ST8 in Burns and Plastic Surgery travelled to Toronto, Canada. He Presented papers at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (University Health Network) and St Michael’s Hospital.  His report can be seen here and Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran. Senior Research Fellow in Robotics & Urology and Consultant Urological Surgeon at the University of Oxford


The 2015 Fellowship was awarded to Professor Nawwar Al-Attar, Consultant Cardio-Thoracic Surgeon from the Golden Jubilee Hospital in Glasgow travelled with us to Madrid.  He presented a  paper ‘Managing the cardiac crisis: from mechanical circulatory support to transplantation’ at the Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre and “Pure internal thoracic artery CABG:the ‘nec plus ultra’ in myocardial revascularisation” at the Hospital Universitario Puerta de Hierro. His report is here


Mr Fung J Foo travelled with the society to Rennes, France and to Jersey. He presented papers at Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Rennes and Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Nantes, France.


Mr Jawad Ahmad an SpR from Belfast, was the 2013 Price Thomas Fellow and travelled with the society to Charlottesville and Richmond Virginia, presenting two papers during the meeting. His report is here.


Mr Justin Davies travelled to Dublin with the society where he presented papers at St Vincent’s University Hospital and at the Mater Misericordiae Hospital.


The holders of the 2011 awards, Mr John Simpson (Nottingham) and Mr James Clover (Cork), travelled to Switzerland with the Travelling Surgical Society from 4th to 11th June 2011. During this time they delivered two papers at scientific meetings at Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, Lausanne, Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève and attended a meeting at The International Committee for the Red Cross, Geneva. You will find John Simpson’s report here


The winners of the 2010 Price Thomas Travelling Fellowships were Prof Ian Chetter, Senior Lecturer/Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Hull and Mr David Macafee, Trainee, Northern Deanery. They travelled with the society to Cuba and Barbados. You will find David Macafee’s report on his trip in 2010 here .


The winners of the 2009 Price Thomas Travelling Fellowships were Prof David Jayne, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon and Senior Lecturer, Leeds and Prof Tim Lane, Consultant Urologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Queen Mary Medical School, London. They travelled with the society to Iceland.